More Wellness Walk & Talks

(This post originally reprinted from September 2020 Island Times) As summer approaches, I thought it was worth reposting now!

Wellness Walk & Talks

We all know the benefits of walking for our physical health…
It improves our circulation, lowers our blood pressure and keeps our heart happy. It strengthens our muscles and improves our joints and flexibility.
It can also help us sleep better at night. An added bonus can be weight loss, which in and of itself can lead to a whole host of other benefits.
I first started getting serious about walking back when I was pregnant with my son. I was determined to help my body become healthier, mainly for his benefit. Looking back, it was quite an altruistic act; giving little thought to my own needs, but wanting to be sure this baby would enter the world strong and healthy. I started watching what I ate more carefully, and drank plenty of water. By the time he made his appearance, I was likely one of the very few women that could boast of LOSING weight being pregnant, instead of gaining. I felt better overall, too. Thankfully, birth and delivery went well, and a healthy 6-pound, 12-ounce baby boy entered the world.

As we got back into the routine of a two-parent working family; walking, or any form of exercise, proved challenging. Extracurricular activities and sports were encouraged. But the reality is, life happens, and responsibilities continue. I admire those people who make physical activity a priority. But it is hard work…not just the physical exertion, but the mere scheduling. Families are busier than ever before.
When our family was faced with the crisis of a child with a life-threatening illness, I turned again to walking. Once we moved to Fredericton, we had to establish a new routine, revolving around hospital visits. It often included afternoon nap time for kiddo…and a quick,brisk walk for mom. Once again, I was starting to feel better, and starting to sleep a bit better.
Having worked in a stressful job, walking became more and more important for my own mental health. Stanley’s beach and the Anchorage became the venues of choice.
Which brings me to the other benefits of walking…improved mental health.
I won’t say I became obsessed, but I learned to recognize when I needed a walk by the ocean. I became cranky, I would forget things on my To-Do list, and I lost interest in social events. I would wake up knowing today was a day I HAD to find time to walk. If I had lots on my plate through the day/evening, I would walk in the morning before school. Not everyday, but as I felt I needed it. I know my body needs it EVERY day; but my head would let me know when my spirit needed it, too.
Walking can improve your mood, and give you a change of scenery that can help you assess the stressors in your world. Admittedly, it can only help you forget about your worries for awhile, and you still have to go back and face them after. Sometimes we just need to be able to step back, and look at things with a different set of eyes. I learned meditation, prayer and journaling became equally important for my daily routine. Exercise of any form helps release endorphins, the “feel good” chemicals in our body. These chemicals get released in reaction to pain and stress. It is our own natural defence mechanism to these stressors. How cool is that? It is totally normal to have stress and pain…but our bodies were designed to respond to it, to not let it get the best of us. It is up to us to find ways that work best for our own body. Some people find extreme workouts gives them a natural high, and feeling of accomplishment. Others may find the soothing sounds of waves crashing on the shoreline create the same effect. Walking outdoors can have a positive affect on depression and anxiety.
Personally, I found early morning sunrise hikes out to Swallowtail to be most beneficial for me. If you start out while it’s still in the twilight hours, you might be pleasantly surprised to hear a seal, or even a whale. I challenge myself to hike right out to the helicopter pad, where you get the best 360’ view of the peninsula. If you’re lucky, there will be a few odd clouds, to keep the early morning sky interesting. Now you sit and wait. The squirrels will be chattering. The fisherman will be starting out from the wharf. The fog may drift in and out. But all in all, it is the most peaceful place on earth, I am sure. Once your breath is taken away as the sun comes up, I always just enjoy sitting for a few more minutes. Eventually, the village of North Head is waking up, with lights and movement. Eventually, I will start the trek back down, psyching myself up to make it across the bridge and back up the 54 steps. The descent is always easier; the ascent more challenging, and rewarding. As I make more trips out over the summer months, it gets easier and easier.
When I talk with people, some are surprised at how often I go out…I certainly don’t think I go nearly enough. This isn’t about athletic training at all. It’s about mental training for me; building resiliency to the everyday stressors we all encounter. We are so fortunate here on Grand Manan. We have so many beautiful trails we can access for free. We don’t have to fear any wildlife we might encounter. Women can feel quite safe from predators they might come across in a big city setting. Many, if not all, our trails offer beautiful resting spots, which naturally lend themselves to meditation and prayer time. You might want to bring along your camera and journal!
A few people have told me they are uncomfortable walking by themselves; others just want a safe place to vent, or just to know someone is listening…that someone can validate their feelings in whatever they might be facing on any given day. Others are lonely, living by themselves. COVID isolation has amplified those feelings of isolation and loneliness for many.
Some like the idea of just getting out for a little fresh air, but might be intimidated by more rigorous hiking, or running groups.
My series of Wellness Walk & Talks offer people a chance to get out for a short, easy hike of under one hour. Some are during the day, some in the evening, so we can fit around most work schedules. I decided not to stick to a regular day, because my walks are scheduled around the weather forecasts and tide calendar. I like to explore little out-of-the-way paths that people may not even know exist, and would be comfortable returning on their own at a later time. True heart-healthy activities pick up the pace after 30 minutes, but I let the group decide that day if they want to keep going, or stop at the planned time. Some of our walks have included geocache finds and Rock Art hide-n-seek. Whatever your goal, I hope I can inspire you to get out and move, for your mind, body, and soul.
I also offer one-on-one walk & talks, for people who might be uncomfortable around others, or if scheduling issues arise. Just text me at 662-4246, and we can plan on another day/time that works for you.
I look forward to meeting up with some of you on our trails soon.
After all, aren’t we all just walking each other home?

Check out related resources at:
www.goodtherapy.org
https://www.thehealthymaven.com/how-to-build-a-healthy-trail-mix/
A gentle reminder to respect social distancing and bring a mask, as well as a water bottle and comfortable walking shoes.

Leave a comment